As I’m venturing into the world of blogging with a new excitement and focus, I happened to stumble upon my old blog, Distant Voyager . I had set it up prior to my (what was supposed to be) my year-long journey around the world. It’s interesting to look back at my first post prior to leaving on my trip discussing where I was at that point in time, and my reasons for venturing off into the unknown world. Please take a peak using the link above.

My statement, “I will learn things that no book could ever teach, about life, about cultures, about faith. I don’t believe anyone can travel the world for a year, and not be changed…in what way is up to them.”, is so true about travel. When you leave your comfort zone of your familiar life you are challenged to accept cultural differences and customs, sometimes learn the basics of another language, or become more open to new experiences and people. The challenge however, is to hold on to those lessons or broadened perceptions once you return to your usual life. It is so easy to become too busy to experience new things or meet new people. I find when you are surrounded by the familiar settings and people, you forget to pay attention…while I was travelling, I did my best to soak up ever bit of scenery, every experience…every day was a new journey…

In 2007 I spent 1 week in Orgiva, Spain. It is a beautiful little town in the Alpuharras Region; a place I consider to be heaven on earth. It’s a very small town with a charming local market of mostly fruit, hand crafted jewelery and sometimes raw-food treats, but most importantly, the area is rich with a rustic charm. I spent my days amidst a 300 year old olive grove, visited a Tibetan monastery in the Alpuharras Mountains, soaked in the beautiful energy of a morning Reiki circle as the sun nourished my spirit. This was the trip that began the desire, the urgency to take a longer extended trip than what I had previously experienced.

Here are a few select photos from my initial journey to Orgiva for my Reiki Retreat:

 

When I’m surrounded by nature and beautiful landscapes, I feel so much more content to live a simpler life. I feel grounded, settled, and in true appreciation of what mother nature has provided…

I yearned to return to this haven, and in the late spring of 2008, (two weeks after having my appendix removed), I left my job and responsibilities behind and headed to the UK for the first leg of the trip…

I was blessed with rainbows too large to fit into one shot, waterfalls and breath-taking vistas. I find the higher the vantage point, the more insignificant your life seems. You realize how unimportant your worries and struggles are – you can just release them into the wind. Our lives and struggles, are so impermanent but the formations which mother nature has created will exist beyond many of our lifetimes. Somehow I find that humbling and comforting…

As I am writing this, I am getting a clearer idea as to WHY. I am looking back and finding more reasons to be grateful for these opportunities and experiences. Sometimes they seem like only a small fragment of a vast collection of memories, but they were some of the most life enriching and beautiful. I am truly thankful for these experiences and where they have led me…

For the next leg of my trip, it was on to INDIA! A place of transformation and changed plans!

To be continued…

