So last Friday my friend Ashley and I decided to have dinner together before heading out to a friends birthday celebration. It was last minute, so I whipped together a ‘Do-it-Yourself’ Greens Bowl (click for photos) with quinoa, beets, shredded carrot, sunflower sprouts and steamed kale, spinach and asparagus. It was surprisingly tasty, as I had whipped it up while talking to my mom on the phone and trying to decide what to wear later that evening.

However, the most important part of the meal was the desert. As Ashley is vegan, I decided to make a batch of Raw Vegan Brownies (click for photos) I had made only once before. I found the recipe online while perusing new recipes one afternoon. They taste fabulous and are a very healthy alternative…still, by no means non-fattening and VERY sweet.

This is the original recipe:

Brownie Base:
1 cup walnuts
1 cup dates
1/4 cup raw cocoa powder

Icing:
2 avocados
1/2 cup agave nectar
1/4 cup cocoa power
2 tsp coconut oil
1 tsp vanilla extract
dash salt
dash cinnamon

With my past experience with this recipe, I discovered a few key things. 1 cup of dates MUST BE MEDJOOL DATES, or the brownie base will not combine together. I have discovered, that in order to bulk up the recipe, I will use a cup of regular dates, and a cup of medjool. As well, using 2 avocados for the icing is WAY TOO MUCH. You would typically only need 1/2 to 1 avocado.

Now, we get into my dilemma. I had purchased a couple avocados earlier in the week, but by Friday, they were still hard. What was I going to do? Ashley was heading over to my place in about an hour, and by this point, I still had to make dinner. My eyes landed on a lonely banana on top of my fridge. This was oh so simple revised recipe which received many rants and raves:

Brownie Base:
1 cup cooking dates
1 cup medjool dates
1/4 cup cocoa power
1/4 cup almonds
1/4 cup shredded raw coconut

Icing:
1 banana (mashed)
1 tbsp agave nectar or raw honey
2 tbsp cocoa power
2 tsp coconut oil
dash of cinnamon

The best thing about this recipe is that you can add or subtract ingredients as you like. In this case, if you do happen to have a RIPE AVOCADO handy, it would work just perfectly. However, I do have to admit that the unexpected banana flavour was wonderful!

On a side note, I found a fortune cookie on the sidewalk while I was walking home. I didn’t eat it obviously, but cracked it open when I got in the door. With gratitude to Wings (also the manufacturer of those little soy sauce and plum sauce packets), I received the following message… “Your sparkling eyes sends healing light on those you meet” If only it were that easy…I would heal the world one shining gaze at a time!

 

